Skip navigation

ALBUM –Rumble: The Best of Link Wray

ARTIST – Link Wray

YEAR – 1993

Listen to track 15, “I’m Branded”, by Link Wray.  Ok, now go and listen to ROCKET FROM THE CRYPT’S “On a Rope“.  Let me know what you think.

Go listen to The Skatalites, then listen to some Brazilian – piece of shit, ball sucking – band, called Skank.  You cannot get more in-your-face-plagiarism than that there.  Really?!  Go check it out.

Ridiculous.

Movie Reference number one: Tarantino’s PULP FICTION.  Track 1, “Rumble” is on there, on the soundtrack, I mean.  And I am sure all of you have heard it.  Kick ass, eh?!

Movie reference number two: David Fincher’s FIGHT CLUB.  Haha!  Nope, no song is on there, I just wanted to quote something, “when you have insomnia, everything feels like a copy of a copy of a copy…”.

Book reference number one: Chuck Palahniuk’s FIGHT CLUB.  Same line, different quote, “This is how it is with insomnia.  Everything is far away, a copy of a copy of a copy.”

So there, I just wanted to use the FIGHT CLUB reference in order to use the word “copy” a lot.

I also think Palahniuk makes a unique critique (no pun intended) of the modern capitalist society; that is, everything seems to revolve around the concept, for us, the people, of copying something or imitating or mimicking.  No?! Fuck off, then.

Back!

Fred Lincoln “Link” Wray Jr (May 2, 1929 – November 5, 2005) fucking kicks ass!!!

Listen to the album.  Really, do.  He just kills.  Kills, kills, kills.  Wicked guitar riffs much?!
I understand, no, actually, I don’t, but who cares.  I just think I understand why people would copy his shit: they know they can do no better.

Thanks to Maria, my lovely sister for the inspiration and title of the post.  Oh yeah, also for Bonut (Donut and Bone) and Cog (Cat and Dog).

Cheers…

One Comment

  1. actually, I didn’t give you the idea for the post, you were talking about it, and I just told you to write it down!!!!!!!


Leave a comment