Skip navigation

YO.cover

ALBUM – Prisoners of Love: A Smattering of Scintillating Senescent Songs: 1984-2003

ARTIST – Yo La Tengo

YEAR – 2005

… it was THIS playing on my car stereo.  Seriously.  I couldn’t figure out where my MP3 CD started or ended – there’s a bunch of stuff on it, like The Jesus And Mary Chain and the Lost in Translation OST.  There’s also Yo La Tengo.  I hadn’t listened to this in forever.  So, as I couldn’t figure out what I had on the MP3 CD, I had to run upstairs, toss the disk in the computer and see it pop up on iTunes.  Oh…  There it is!!!
To my surprise, it was Yo La Tengo.  I was out for a couple of hours, running errands and what not and all the while I was listening to Prisoners of Love.  A fact most of you might not know: I am a very anxious individual, one who constantly switches tracks in order to get to “that” song, quickly.  I honestly don’t know what song it is, I just switch tracks.  Not very good driving antics either.  Regardless, I had this playing – it sill is, on my home stereo, now – all along my errand running.  Funy thing is that I didn’t once bother to switch tracks.  They were good, sort of “hey, I don’t know who’s playing, nor do I realise that I haven’t had the urge to hustle through the songs” kind of good.  You know what I’m trying to say?!

If not, then, well, check this out.  It really is worth a listen.  I can’t really describe it, I have no clue as to the band’s history.  I know they’ve been around since the 80s, but that’s basically it.  Oh, that they’re “Indie” too, like the grandfathers of indie.  One song that stuck, that I’ve played three or four times since I got home is “Autumn Sweater” – a gem.  So, as you were, but with this album in mind now.  Cheers…

Leave a comment